Wesley’s Economy of Language

I wrote awhile back on the economy in language in Charles Wesley’s hymns.  I recently came across a similar idea in his brother John’s words regarding prose:

“I write for those who judge of books, not by the quantity, but by the quality of them: who ask not how long, but how good they are?  I spare both my reader’s time and my own, by couching my sense in as few words as I can.”

(quoted in Joseph M. Williams and Gregory G. Colomb, Style: Lessons in Clarity and Grace, 10th ed. [Pearson, 2010], 100)

This entry was posted in Hymn writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

